Graduate and Professional Programs

The following is a list of the University of Maine's available Graduate and Professional Programs and Degrees.
Please note the links to their Departmental Web Pages, Program Fact Sheets, and a contact email address for the Graduate Coordinator.
 

Animal Sciences -Master of Science (MS)
-Master of Professional Studies (MPS)
Fact Sheet Charles Wallace
wallace@maine.edu
Anthropology and Environmental Policy -Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) Fact Sheet

Cindy Isenhour
cynthia.isenhour@maine.edu

Biochemistry -Master of Science (MS)
-Master of Professional Studies (MPS)
Fact Sheet Charles Moody
charles.moody@umit.maine.edu
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
 
Microbiology -Master of Science (MS)
-Master of Professional Studies (MPS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet
Biological Sciences -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Fact Sheet Andrei Alyokhin
umbiosci@maine.edu
Botany & Plant Pathology -Master of Science (MS)
Entomology -Master of Science (MS)
Zoology -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Plant Science -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Ecology & Environmental Sciences -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Jessica Leahy
 jessica.leahy@umit.maine.edu 
Biomedical Sciences -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Fact Sheet David Neivandt
dneivandt@umche.maine.edu
Functional Genomics -Doctor of Philosophy 
(Interdisciplinary PhD)
Fact Sheet
Business Administration -Master of Business Administration (MBA) Fact Sheet Carol Mandzik
 carol.mandzik@maine.edu
Biological Engineering -Master of Engineering (ME)
-Master of Science (MS)
Fact Sheet Doug Bousfield
 dbousfield@umche.maine.edu
 
Chemical Engineering -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet
Chemistry -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Brian Frederick
 gradchy@umit.maine.edu
Civil Engineering -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Roberto Lopez-Anido
cie.graduate@maine.edu
 
Advanced Engineered Wood Composites -Graduate Certificate (Cert.) Information Doreen Boutin
 doreen.boutin@umit.maine.edu
Quaternary & Climate Studies -Master of Science (MS) Fact Sheet Karl Kreutz
 karl.kreutz@maine.edu
Communication -Master of Arts (MA) Fact Sheet Eric Peterson
peterson@maine.edu
Communication & Mass Communication -Doctor of Philosophy 
(Interdisciplinary PhD)
Communication Sciences & Disorders -Master of Arts (MA) Fact Sheet Insop Kim
 insop.kim@maine.edu
Computer Science -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet James Fastook
fastook@maine.edu
Information Systems -Master of Science (MS) Fact Sheet Harlan Onsrud
kkidder@spatial.maine.edu
Spatial Information Science & Engineering -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Harlan J. Onsrud
 kkidder@spatial.maine.edu
Geographic Information Systems -Graduate Certificate (Cert.) Information Karen Kidder
 kkidder@spatial.maine.edu
Earth and Climate Sciences -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Andy Reeve
 asreeve@maine.edu
Economics -Master of Arts (MA) Fact Sheet Jonathan Rubin
Kathleen Bell
jonathan.rubin@umit.maine.edu
Financial Economics -Master of Arts (MA)
 
Resource Economics & Policy -Master of Science (MS)
    Fact Sheet Janet Spector
spector@maine.edu
Counselor Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Arts (MA)
-Master of Education (MEd)
-Master of Science (MS)
   
Early Childhood Teacher -Graduate Certificate (Cert.)
Education -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Education Data Specialist -Graduate Certificate (Cert.)
Educational Leadership (Pre K - 12) -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Doctor of Education (EdD)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
-Master of Education (MEd)
   
Elementary Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT)
-Master of Education (MEd)
-Master of Science (MS)
Higher Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Arts (MA)
-Master of Education (MEd)
-Master of Science (MS)
Higher Education

-Doctor of Education (EdD) -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Individualized Program in Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Education (MEd)
   
Kinesiology & Physical Education -Master of Education (MEd)
-Master of Science (MS)
Literacy Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Doctor of Philosphy (PhD)
-Master of Education (MEd)
-Master of Science (MS)
Science Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Education (MEd)
-Master of Science (MS)
Secondary Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Education (MEd)
-Master of Science (MS)
Social Studies Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Arts (MA)
-Master of Education (MEd)
-Master of Science (MS)
Special Education -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Education (MEd)
Response to Intervention for Behavior (RTI-B) -Graduate Certificate (Cert.)
 
       
Computer Engineering -Master of Science (MS) Fact Sheet Yifeng Zhu
 yifeng.zhu@maine.edu
Electrical Engineering -Master of Science (MS)
Electrical & Computer Engineering -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
English -Master of Arts (MA) Fact Sheet Carla Billitteri
 englishgradstudies@umit.maine.edu
Foods and Nutrition -Graduate Certificate (Cert.) Information Denise Skonberg
 denise.skonberg@umit.maine.edu
Food Science & Human Nutrition -Master of Science (MS) Fact Sheet
Food & Nutrition Sciences -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Forest Resources -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Michael Day
 paschal@umenfa.maine.edu
Forestry -Master of Forestry (MFOR)
 
Advanced Engineered Wood Composites -Graduate Certificate (Cert.) Information Doreen Boutin
 doreen.boutin@umit.maine.edu
Functional Genomics -Doctor of Philosophy 
(Interdisciplinary PhD)
Fact Sheet Keith Hutchison
keithh@maine.edu
History -Master of Arts (MA)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Jacques Ferland
Jacques_ferland@umit.maine.edu
Interdisciplinary (I PhD) -Doctor of Philosophy 
(Interdisciplinary PhD)
  Scott Delcourt
 debbi.clements@maine.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies -Master of Arts (MA) Fact Sheet Scott Delcourt
 debbi.clements@maine.edu
Marine Biology -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Sara Lindsay
 susanne.thibodeau@umit.maine.edu
Marine Policy -Master of Science (MS) Yong Chen
 susanne.thibodeau@umit.maine.edu
Oceanography -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Lee Karp-Boss
 susanne.thibodeau@umit.maine.edu
 
Marine Bio-Resources -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Paul Rawson
paul.rawson@umit.maine.edu
Master of Science in Teaching -Master of Science in Teaching (MST) Fact Sheet Susan McKay
 susan.mckay@umit.maine.edu
Mathematics -Master of Arts (MA) Fact Sheet Andrew Knightly
 knightly@math.umaine.edu
Mechanical Engineering -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Vince Caccese
 vince.caccese@umit.maine.edu
French -Master of Arts (MA)
-Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT)
Fact Sheet Jane Smith
 jane.smith@umit.maine.edu
Spanish -Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT)  
Nursing -Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS)
-Master of Science (MS)
Fact Sheet Mary Shea
 mary.shea@maine.edu
Nursing Education -Graduate Certificate (Cert.)
Ocean Engineering -Doctor of Philosophy 
(Interdisciplinary PhD)
  Mick Peterson
michael.peterson@maine.edu
Music Conducting -Master of Music (MMUS) Fact Sheet Dennis Cox
 dkcox@maine.edu
Music Education -Master of Music (MMUS)
Music Performance -Master of Music (MMUS)
Engineering Physics -Master of Engineering (ME) Fact Sheet James McClymer
 james.mcclymer@umit.maine.edu
Physics -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
 
Master of Science in Teaching -Master of Science in Teaching (MST) Fact Sheet Susan McKay
 susan.mckay@umit.maine.edu
Horticulture -Master of Science (MS) Fact Sheet Eric Gallandt
 gallandt@maine.edu
Sustainable Agriculture -Master of Science (MS)
 
Plant, Soil & Environmental Studies -Master of Science (MS) Stom Ohno
 ohno@maine.edu
 
Plant Science -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Andrei Aloykhin
umbiosci@maine.edu
Clinical Psychology -Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Fact Sheet Doug Nangle
 doug.nangle@umit.maine.edu 
 
Developmental Psychology -Master of Arts (MA)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Alan Rosenwasser
 alan.rosenwasser@umit.maine.edu
Psychological Sciences -Master of Arts (MA)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Social Work -Master of Social Work (MSW) Fact Sheet Sandy Butler
 socialwork@umit.maine.edu
Wildlife Ecology -Master of Science (MS)
-Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Fact Sheet Malcolm Hunter
 wildeco@maine.edu
Wildlife Conservation -Master of Wildlife Conservation (MWC)