Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family | Emergency

Laboratory for Surface Science and Technology


Site Navigation:


Faculty and Staff

LASST Faculty
Scott Collins
Professor of Chemistry
scott.collins@maine.edu

MEMS/NEMS, nanofabrication, micromechanical components, microphotonic devices
William DeSisto
Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering
wdesisto@umche.maine.edu
chemical vapor deposition, inorganic membranes, high-surface area structures
Brian Frederick
Associate Professor of Chemistry
brian.frederick@umit.maine.edu
surface chemistry and catalysis, vibrational spectroscopy, time-of-flight mass spectroscopy
Peter Kleban
Professor Emeritus of Physics
kleban@maine.edu
surface physics, statistical mechanics, condensed matter theory
Robert Lad
Professor of Physics
rjlad@maine.edu
materials science, ceramics, thin film synthesis, materials characterization, sensors
Robert Meulenberg
Associate Professor of Physics
robert.meulenberg@maine.edu
nanomaterials, photovoltaics, heterostructures, synchrotron radiation experiments
Paul Millard
Associate Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering
paul.millard@maine.edu
biosensors, physiological genomics and proteomics, microbial pathogen detection
Mauricio Pereira da Cunha
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
mdacunha@eece.maine.edu
microwave acoustics, piezoelectric crystals, wireless communication, harsh environment sensors
Rosemary Smith
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
rosemary.smith@maine.edu
bio-MEMS, microinstruments, microsystems engineering
Carl Tripp
Professor of Chemistry
ctripp@maine.edu
surface chemistry, infrared/raman spectroscopy, nanoporous materials, chem/bio detection
William Unertl
Professor Emeritus of Physics
unertl@maine.edu
nanomechanics, polymers, tribology, composite coatings, surface physics
John Vetelino
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
vet@eece.maine.edu
acoustic wave sensors, metal oxide sensors, chem/bio sensors

LASST Professional Staff
George Bernhardt
Research Scientist
georgeb@maine.edu
thin films, device fabrication
Michael Call
Research Engineer
michael.call@maine.edu
electronics, device fabrication
David Frankel
Senior Research Scientist
frankel@maine.edu
vacuum technology, thin films, materials analysis
Justin Millis
IMB Research Engineer
justin.millis@maine.edu
NEMS/MEMS fabrication

 


LASST Administration
Susan Ashley
Administrative Assistant
sue.ashley@umit.maine.edu
Patricia Paul
Administrative Officer
patricia.paul@umit.maine.edu

Image Description: Scott Collins

Image Description: William Desisto

Image Description: Frederick

Image Description: Peter Kleban

Image Description: Robert Lad

Image Description: Robert Meulenberg

Image Description: Paul Millard

Image Description: Mauricio Pereira da Cunha

Image Description: Rosemary Smith

Image Description: Carl Tripp

Image Description: William Unertl

Image Description: John Vetelino

Image Description: George Bernhardt

Image Description: Michael Call

Image Description: David Frankel

Image Description: Justin Millis

Image Description: Sue Ashley

Image Description: Patricia Paul


Sidebar

lasst-logo_revised

Additional Links


Contact Information

Laboratory for Surface Science and Technology
5708 Engineering Science Research Building - Barrows Hall
Orono, Maine 04469-5708
Phone: (207) 581-2254 | Fax: (207) 581-2255
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
207.581.1865