Skip to main content Skip to main content
Programs Overview
Undergraduate Programs
Graduate Programs
Course Catalog
Outreach Initiatives
Research Clusters
Research Areas
Funding Opportunities
People Overview
Directory
Find a Mentor
Alumni Directory
Job Opportunities
Admissions Overview
Undergraduate Admissions
Graduate Admissions
Contact Us
Maps & Directions
Campus Tours
 
 

Research > Clusters

Environmental Oceanography

Marine and estuarine environments have suffered diverse modes of degradation, including pollution with xenobiotic compounds, accelerated input of dissolved plant nutrients and physical modifications ranging from construction of dams to repeated "plowing" of the seabed with fishing trawls. An oceanographic approach to fates and effects is a natural one, as both transport and transformation are involved, and transport-reaction equations are second nature to oceanographers.

Participating Faculty

 

Damian C. Brady

Damian C. Brady

Bio sketch→
Interests: Marine Biogeochemistry, Environmental Oceanography, Marine Physiological Ecology, Water Quality Modeling, Individual-based Modeling, Ocean Modeling and Prediction
damian.brady@maine.edu
Phone: 207.312.8752

Laurie Connell

Laurie Connell

Bio sketch→
Interests: Environmental Oceanography, Marine Physiological Ecology, Marine Molecular Genetics, Marine Biology
laurie.connell@umit.maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.2470

Lewis Incze

Lewis Incze

Bio sketch→
Interests: larval ecology, physical-biological coupling, ecosystem modeling
lincze@maine.edu
Phone: 207.563.8192

Lawrence Mayer

Lawrence Mayer

Bio sketch→
Interests: Marine Biogeochemistry, Benthic Oceanography, Environmental Oceanography
lmayer@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.5118

Rebecca Van Beneden

Rebecca Van Beneden

Bio sketch→
Interests: Environmental Oceanography, Environmental Toxicology, Marine Molecular Genetics, Tumorigenesis, Molecular Carcinogenesis in Aquatic Organisms, Marine Biology
rebeccav@maine.edu
Phone: (207) 581-2602

Gayle Zydlewski

Gayle Zydlewski

Bio sketch→
Interests: Environmental Oceanography, Fisheries Sciences, Biological Oceanography, Ocean Energy
gayle.zydlewski@umit.maine.edu
Phone: (207) 581-4365

Marine Science

Copyright © 2014 UMaine School of Marine Sciences

Website built by RainStorm Consulting