Skip to main content Skip to main content
Programs Overview
Undergraduate Programs
Graduate Programs
Course Catalog
Outreach Initiatives
Research Clusters
Research Areas
Funding Opportunities
People Overview
Directory
Find a Mentor
Alumni Directory
Job Opportunities
Admissions Overview
Undergraduate Admissions
Graduate Admissions
Contact Us
Maps & Directions
Campus Tours
 
 

Research > Clusters

Fisheries Sciences

Fisheries oceanography assesses how oceanographic processes influence abundance, production and condition of fisheries stocks. Issues include source and sink regions of or for recruits and timing of food availability at critical life stages. Molecular methods recently have greatly improved the ability to define genetically separate stocks and source and sink regions.

Participating Faculty

 

Fei Chai

Fei Chai

Bio sketch→
Interests: Biological-Physical Interactions, Fisheries Sciences, Ocean Modeling and Prediction, Marine Biogeochemistry, Biological Oceanography, Marine Climate Change
fchai@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.4317

Yong Chen

Yong Chen

Bio sketch→
Interests: Fisheries Sciences, Fisheries Ecology, Population Dynamics, Stock Assessment and Management, Marine Biology, Marine Policy
ychen@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.4303

Lewis Incze

Lewis Incze

Bio sketch→
Interests: larval ecology, physical-biological coupling, ecosystem modeling
lincze@maine.edu
Phone: 207.563.8192

Teresa Johnson

Teresa Johnson

Bio sketch→
Interests: Marine policy, fisheries management, public participation, fishing communities, fishermen's knowledge, cooperative research, social science, renewable energy
teresa.johnson@umit.maine.edu
Phone: .207.581.4362

James McCleave

James McCleave

Bio sketch→
Interests: Biological-Physical Interactions, Fisheries Sciences, eel biology, environmental effects of alternate ocean energy, Marine Biology, Oceanography
mccleave@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.4392

Jeffrey Runge

Jeffrey Runge

Bio sketch→
Interests: Biological-Physical Interactions, Fisheries Sciences, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, Biological Oceanography
Jeffrey.runge@maine.edu
Phone: 207.228.1652

Richard (Rick) Wahle

Richard (Rick) Wahle

Bio sketch→
Interests: benthic oceanography, fisheries sciences, marine invertebrate zoology
richard.wahle@maine.edu
Phone: 207 563 3146 ext249

James (Jim) Wilson

James (Jim) Wilson

Bio sketch→
Interests: Fisheries Sciences, Marine Policy
jwilson@maine.edu
Phone: (207) 581-4368

Gayle Zydlewski

Gayle Zydlewski

Bio sketch→
Interests: Environmental Oceanography, Fisheries Sciences, Biological Oceanography, Ocean Energy
gayle.zydlewski@umit.maine.edu
Phone: (207) 581-4365

Marine Science

Copyright © 2014 UMaine School of Marine Sciences

Website built by RainStorm Consulting