Skip to main content Skip to main content
Programs Overview
Undergraduate Programs
Graduate Programs
Course Catalog
Outreach Initiatives
Research Clusters
Research Areas
Funding Opportunities
People Overview
Directory
Find a Mentor
Alumni Directory
Job Opportunities
Admissions Overview
Undergraduate Admissions
Graduate Admissions
Contact Us
Maps & Directions
Campus Tours
 
 

Research > Clusters

Marine Invertebrate Zoology

Invertebrates provide extensive diversity from which to learn about organisms via the durable methods of comparative zoology. The oceans, in turn, house the bulk of the world's invertebrate diversity at the level of phyla. Marine invertebrates provide interesting and extreme models of many physiological, ecological and genetic processes. The Darling Marine Center provides ready access to diverse estuarine and coastal faunas and culturing facilities. SMS has one of the largest concentrations of marine invertebrate expertise at any educational institution.

Participating Faculty

 

Kevin Eckelbarger

Kevin Eckelbarger

Bio sketch→
Interests: Reproductive and developmental biology of marine invertebrates; deep-sea biology, Marine Biology
kevine@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581-5230

Peter A. Jumars

Peter A. Jumars

Bio sketch→
Interests: Benthos, Benthic Oceanography, Biological-Physical Interactions, Bioacoustics, Biological-Physical Interactions, Ocean Observing Systems, Ocean Modeling and Prediction, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Climate Change
jumars@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.5114

Irv Kornfield

Irv Kornfield

Bio sketch→
Interests: Marine Molecular Genetics, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Biology
irvk@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.2548

Sara Lindsay

Sara Lindsay

Bio sketch→
Interests: Benthic Oceanography, Marine Physiological Ecology, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, sensory biology,microscopy, invertebrate biology, benthic ecology, polychaetes, Marine Biology
slindsay@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.2739

Paul Rawson

Paul Rawson

Bio sketch→
Interests: Marine Aquaculture, Marine Physiological Ecology, Marine Molecular Genetics, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Biology
prawson@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.4326

Jeffrey Runge

Jeffrey Runge

Bio sketch→
Interests: Biological-Physical Interactions, Fisheries Sciences, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, Biological Oceanography
Jeffrey.runge@maine.edu
Phone: 207.228.1652

Robert Steneck

Robert Steneck

Bio sketch→
Interests: Marine Ecology, Benthic Oceanography, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Biology, Biological Oceanography, Marine Policy, Marine Climate Change, coral reefs, coastal marine ecosystems
steneck@maine.edu
Phone: 207.581.5315

Richard (Rick) Wahle

Richard (Rick) Wahle

Bio sketch→
Interests: benthic oceanography, fisheries sciences, marine invertebrate zoology
richard.wahle@maine.edu
Phone: 207.563.3146 ext249

Rhian Waller

Rhian Waller

Bio sketch→
Interests: Marine Invertebrate Zoology; Benthic Oceanography; Marine Climate Change
rhian.waller@maine.edu
Phone: 207.563.8310

Marine Science

Copyright © 2014 UMaine School of Marine Sciences

Website built by RainStorm Consulting